Taming The Sugar Beast

I learned a lot from the reBOOT cleanse and can’t recommend it enough. I feel more like myself. I can now say that I love arugula more than chocolate.  That’s a miracle!  Thanks, Shanti. – Nisaa K., Alameda, CA

IS SUGAR CARAMELIZING YOUR HEART?

sugar

  • We build up a tolerance to sugar, just like drugs, so we need more and more and more. 
  • Sugar in any form—honey, agave nectar, table syrup, “natural” —is all equally toxic.
  • Sugar may raise your cholesterol as much as (or even more than) a cheeseburger.
  • The American Heart Association recommends that women keep their sugar intake to less than 100 calories of added sugar a day. This is less than the amount in one can of soda!
  • Sugar has become a “public health crisis” just like alcohol and tobacco.
  • Sugar causes insulin to spike, which can fuel certain types of cancers, including breast and colon cancers.

​It’s time to Tame the SUGAR BEAST…

Step 1: What’s missing in your diet?
ASK: “Am I eating enough leafy greens and whole grains? Am I eating too many starchy foods and not enough protein and fat?”
Step 2: How’s your sleep?
ASK: “Am I able to wake-up without an alarm clock and feel rested?”
Step 4: What fun things do you do outside of work and obligations?
ASK: “Are sweets the main “treat” in my life?”
Step 5: How’s your digestion?
ASK: “Am I feeling bloated, gassy, or off?”
The solution is to gain body awareness and kindness. There’s a reason why our cravings have become a BEAST. Address the imbalance and watch the cravings change.
For support and guidance in this area, consider joining our reBOOT Nourishing Fall cleanse. We tame the cravings one week at a time! Learn more here.
hbh_logo_Orange
SHANTI PAPPAS     415.308.3529    shanti@happybellyhealth.com
500 Sutter St, Suite 906, San Francisco CA

One thought on “Taming The Sugar Beast

  1. It has been helpful for me to be aware of what I’m consuming and where sugar plays into it all. Cutting down on my sugar has definitely helped me to have more energy and less moody! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

